Outside the Main Gates on Kew Green
Explore Kew Gardens - Virtual Tour
© 2005 Armchair Travel Co. Ltd. - This page may be used for non-commercial purposes ONLY!
Save as Microsoft Print
Built in 1631 by a London merchant on the site of an earlier house, Kew Palace for many years was called the Dutch House because of its distinctive gables. Queen Caroline once owned it, George III and his two eldest sons lived there, the Dukes of Cambridge and Kent were married there and Queen Charlotte died there. For many years another royal residence, The White House, stood in front of it, where the sundial can now be seen.